Participation in the 13th International Summer Space School

The motto of the School is "From a mission idea to a nanosatellite project".

The School basic principles

The School includes two stages: distant education stage and full-time education stage.

The participants of the School can be bachelors of final year, master students, PhD students, young researchers and young engineers.

February 17 - Deadline of registration for participation in the Summer Space School. Until this date, every participant must send his or her filled registration form to e-mail address

February 24 - Organizing Committee confirms the receipt of registration forms for access participations and sends passwords and logins for access to distant education stage.
During the distant education stage, the participants should demonstrate basic knowledge of the bases of space flight mechanics and motion dynamics of the nanosatellites. Under the management of Professor Ivan Timbai the School participants have to study some lectures and to do home tasks and tests.

The duration of distant education stage is two weeks and is finished in March 10.

After analyzing the results of tests, conclusions will be drawn about the admission of participants to the full-time education stage.

March 20 - The list of participants for full-time education stage will published on the website and participants will get conformation about accepting to full-time education stage the School.

Students from list of participants will be invited for participation in full-time educational stage from June 19 till July 1 in Samara. Participants can propose their ideas for a mission that can be accepted students for discussion at School. In addition, they should prepare a short presentation about their University and its researches and science activities.

April 1 - Deadline for submission of documents (passport) for preparing official invitation of VISA.

May 19 - Distribution invitations to candidates who may qualify for the full-time educational stage of the School. Participants must have received a business VISA for visiting university. Three weeks before beginning the School participants have to send information about tickets and confirm participation in the School. Those participants, which will not send a confirmation of their participation in the School, will not have guarantees of the accommodation in the University Hostel and they will have to rent a hotel by themselves.

The arrival of participants will be on June 18.

The full-time education stage of the School will be started on June 19 and will be finished on July 2.

In the first week of the full-time education stage participants will attend lectures about nanosatellite advanced technologies (design, navigation, control and so on) and will have trainings on ProEngineer and Altium Design Software utilization for construction of nanosatellites and their design of electronic subsystems for them.
In the second week the participants will divided on teams to work on nanosatellites projects the ideas of which were proposed at the beginning of full-time education stage.
School will be over by public presentations and defense of projects. As result of work there will be selected the projects, which can be recommended for further development by an international team of participants.
The training course in the frame of School program is estimated in 3.5 ECTS and oriented on master and PhD students.

July 2 - Departure of participants.


Tuition rates concepts in the 13th International Summer Space School.

All participants are divided in two categories:
- Students from Universities or organizations, cooperating with Samara University and having signed an intercollegiate agreement,
- Students from other Universities.

Taking into account support from sponsors the full fee for School participation from partner universities is 150 EUR, for students from other universities is 250 EUR.

These payments cover accommodation, meals, education, organization, cultural program.
The payments have to be payed after arrival Samara in the first day.

Partner universities are the universities, which have signed a cooperation agreement with Samara University.
Non-partner universities are the universities, which have not cooperation agreement with Samara University.

The list of partner Universities and organizations:

- ALAR - Asociacion Latinoamericano Rusa (Peru),
- Al-Farabi Kazakh National University (Kazakhstan),
- Almaty University of Power Engineering and Telecommunications (Kazakhstan),
- Arthur C. Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies (Sri Lanka),
- Belarus State University (Belarus),
- Delft Technical University (the Netherlands),

- Grenoble Alpes University (France),
- Higher Institute of Technologies and Applied Sciences (Cuba),
- ISAE SUPAERO - Institut superieur de l'aeronautique et de l'espace (France),
- Julius-Maximilians University (Germany),
- Kyushu Institute of Technology (Japan),
- Lithuanian Space Association (Lithuania),
- L.N. Gumilyov Eurasian National University (Kazakhstan),

Lulea University (Sweden),
- Regional centre of teaching of science and technology of the space for Latin America and the Caribbean (Mexico),
- Thomas More University (Belgium),
- University of Vigo (Spain),
- University of Stuttgart (Germany),
- University of Colorado (USA).